About the Maine                    Pilotage Commission



The MRSA 38 § 89 requires the Maine Pilotage Commission to be comprised of seven individuals who are citizens of the United States and Maine and appointed by the Governor as follows:


· Three licensed pilots who are active in pilotage representing each of the Commission’s coastal zones;


· Two members who are not licensed pilots but are from a maritime industry that utilizes pilots; and


· Two members representing the public who are not licensed pilots but have a maritime background.



Captain Charles Weeks - Commission Chairperson; Professor Emeritus, Maine Maritime Academy with over 50 years of shipping & education experience.  Master of vessels of unlimited tonnage. Commission member since 1998.


Captain David Gelinas - President, Penobscot Bay & River Pilots Association, Master of vessels of unlimited tonnage.  Commission member since 1998.


Captain Mark Klopp - Kennebec River pilot. Master of vessels of unlimited tonnage and is a prior tankship Master.  Commission member since 2015.  Captain Klopp also serves as a pilot in Portland Harbor/Casco Bay and is the current President of Portland Pilots Inc.


Captain Gerald Morrison - Eastport and Quoddy area Pilot, Master of vessels of unlimited tonnage. Over 35 years of seagoing and pilotage experience.  Commission member since 1999.


Captain Shawn Moody -  Operations Manager at Chase, Leavitt Ship Agents, Master of vessels of unlimited tonnage. Commission member since 1999.


Mr. Thomas Dobbins -  Operations consultant to Sprague Energy with over 45 years of vessel, facility and marine logistics experience. Serves as Portland Harbor Commissioner. Master of near coastal vessels of 100 tons.  Commission member since 2013.


Captain John Worth - Retired Professor, Maine Maritime Academy, extensive experience in shipboard operations and prior tug boat company owner. Master of vessels of 1600 tons. Commission member since 2007.


Mr. Brian Downey - Commission Administrator, retired senior Coast Guard officer with over 25 years of experience in marine safety and regulatory enforcement.  Licensed deck officer of vessels of unlimited tonnage.  Administrator since 2013.





The pilotage program is divided into 3 Coastal Zones of Maine's coastal waters relevant to the commission membership:


  • Calais to Schoodic Point,

  • Schoodic Point to Port Clyde and

  • Port Clyde to Kittery (excepting the port of Portland and Casco Bay).


!0 specific regulated routes are identified within the 3 Coastal Zones as follows:


Route A  Kennebec River (to Bath)


Route B  Penobscot Bay (Including Rockland, Camden, Castine, Belfast, & Searsport)


Route C  Penobscot River (Ft. Point to Bucksport)


Route D  Penobscot River (Bucksport to Bangor)


Route E   Frenchman Bay/Bar Harbor


Route F  Eastport/Quoddy


Route G  Sheepscot River


Route H  Blue Hill Bay


Route I   Somes Sound/

               Eastern Way


Route J   Boothbay Harbor








The Commission & its Members
Maine Pilotage Commission Regulated Zones & Routes


16 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333-0016




(207) 899-7123